codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:14 pm

you can now install this program without doing all the stuff listed on this forum post

Code: Select all

sudo eopkg install streamlink-twitch-gui
Last edited by codythedragondude on Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:26 am, edited 2 times in total.

codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:20 pm

Based on what i could find it seems to be python related https://github.com/streamlink/streamlin ... issues/414

arrg python you are so stressful sometimes

codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sun Oct 15, 2017 12:01 am

figured it out

in streamlink twitch gui go to settings click on the streamlink tab were is says python executable direct that to were python is which is usually

/usr/bin/python3.5

then in streamlink python script

make that

/usr/bin/streamlink

codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:37 am

if you get the message
tar: /opt: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

just type this in the terminal and press enter

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /opt
then it should work out for you

aalhitennf
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:15 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:17 pm

Thanks a lot for this! So much better than gnome twitch.

codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:06 pm

@aalhitennf funny you say that because that is the reason i wanted to get streamlink twitch gui working in solus

dylancl
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:13 pm

This is the log of the terminal with debug on.

Code: Select all

dylan@dylan /bin $ streamlink-twitch-gui --loglevel debug
[1104/210850.473195:WARNING:chrome_main_delegate.cc(565)] final extension: 
[19211:19211:1104/210851.590359:ERROR:child_thread_impl.cc(762)] Request for unknown Channel-associated interface: ui::mojom::GpuMain
[debug][Application]
Parameters
{
    "_": [],
    "tray": false,
    "hide": false,
    "hidden": false,
    "max": false,
    "maximize": false,
    "maximized": false,
    "min": false,
    "minimize": false,
    "minimized": false,
    "reset-window": false,
    "versioncheck": true,
    "version-check": true,
    "logfile": true,
    "loglevel": "debug",
    "l": "debug",
    "launch": "",
    "goto": ""
}
[19172:19172:1104/210856.343829:ERROR:browser_main_loop.cc(279)] GLib-GObject: g_object_unref: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
[debug][StreamingService]
Preparing to launch stream
{
    "id": "starcraft",
    "quality": "source",
    "gui_openchat": true,
    "started": "2017-11-04T20:08:58.931Z",
    "stream": "42508152",
    "channel": "42508152"
}
[debug][StreamingService]
Resolving streaming provider
{
    "provider": "streamlink",
    "providerUserData": {
        "exec": "/usr/bin/python3.5",
        "params": "",
        "pythonscript": "/usr/bin/streamlink"
    }
}
[debug][StreamingService]
Found streaming provider
{
    "exec": "/usr/bin/python3.5",
    "params": [
        "/usr/bin/streamlink"
    ],
    "env": null
}
[debug][StreamingService]
Spawning process
{
    "exec": "/usr/bin/python3.5",
    "params": [
        "/usr/bin/streamlink",
        "--version",
        "--no-version-check"
    ],
    "env": null
}
[error][StreamingService]
Error: Unexpected version check output
{
    "id": "starcraft",
    "quality": "source",
    "gui_openchat": true,
    "started": "2017-11-04T20:08:58.931Z",
    "stream": "42508152",
    "channel": "42508152"
}

codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:16 pm

@dylancl yep you said you got it resolved on twitter you did not have streamlink installed hopefully you got it sorted now

bastimeyer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:30 am

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:14 am

Hi, I'm the Streamlink Twitch GUI dev. I just stumbled upon this thread by accident via google. If you need help, you can (should) always contact me or anyone else involved on Github or on Gitter. Now to the issue here...
dylancl wrote:
Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:13 pm
[debug][StreamingService]
Spawning process
{
"exec": "/usr/bin/python3.5",
"params": [
"/usr/bin/streamlink",
"--version",
"--no-version-check"
],
"env": null
}
[error][StreamingService]
Error: Unexpected version check output
[/code]
According to the log output, the streaming provider (Streamlink via python3.5) has been successfully resolved, but it's failing at the final Streamlink version check output. Could you please post the stdout when running this from the shell

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/python3.5 /usr/bin/streamlink --version --no-version-check
This either fails because of a python error on your system or because Streamlink has been modified and is returning a different string that doesn't match the regexp here: https://github.com/streamlink/streamlin ... r.json#L16

Solus currently seems to package Streamlink 0.6.0 (latest version is 0.8.1). Running

Code: Select all

head -n1 $(which streamlink)
returns /usr/bin/python3 in my fresh Solus VM, so this issue might be a Python error here, since you're trying to use a different python environment.

Btw, you don't have to explicitly run the commands listed in the wiki. You can just download and extract the archive and run the executable. I know that it sucks not having packages available on some (most) distros for the moment, but the explicit commands are just there as an additional explanation.

codythedragondude
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: How to get streamlink twitch gui working

Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:01 am

oh hey developer of twitch gui yeah i know we could run the executable but i really wished you consider making a flatpak it would be ten times easier on probably everyone

Return to “Tutorials”