I discovered that if you turn off the mic in Sound under System Settings, a third party app can just reenable it effortlessly. Then when I go back to Sound, it just happily shows me it enabled again. Where's the "turn it off like you mean it" setting?
Creepy stuff... I wonder if the camera is broken in the same way.