User avatar
BridouZ
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:29 pm
Location: Nantes, France
Contact: Website

HowTo: Using your scanner on Solus

Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:06 am

That HowTo is a WIP post

Hi,

After a few issues with my scanner on Solus I finally got it working and I would like to share with you, fellow Solus users, some tips to get your scanner working on Solus.

Softwares to have installed on Solus in order to follow this HowTo :
  • Simple-scan, a GTK frontend to interact with your scanner
  • Sane
  • Sane-backends
  • Gnome-terminal
  • Gedit or any other text editor, even nano is good :)
A sanned history of scanning on Linux
Scanning things on Linux has not always been simple and even nowadays, in some cases, it can still be a blocker for users.
Sane is the library globally used on Linux to get scanners able to work, it also provides a CLI to scan things from the terminal.

So, the packages sane and sane-backends are essentials in order to get your scanner working (or at least able to work)
Sane provides support for a lot of scanners from different manufacturers, you can check the official website if your scanner is supported by sane.

Permission issues
If your scanner appears to be supported but it's not working this could be a permission issue. And lucky for us that's an easy thing to fix.

Trying to launch Simple-scan or the command scanimage -L with root priviliges (using sudo) could be a solution to see if it's really a permission issue.
If it is, you should be able to see your scanner with root priviliges and don't see it with regular privileges.

That's it ? Ok so let's fix that ugly issue !

Assuming that your scanner is plugged, the command lsusb will be used to list every usb components plugged to your computer. For me it look like this :

Code: Select all

justin@solus ~ $ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 004: ID 04b8:085c Seiko Epson Corp. Stylus SX125
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 045e:0745 Microsoft Corp. Nano Transceiver v1.0 for Bluetooth
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0020 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 5986:0149 Acer, Inc 
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0020 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
So you can see that my scanner is recognized and that it's located in /dev/bus/usb/002/004.

I will then use the command ls -al /dev/bus/usb/002/004 to identify which group control my scanner.

Code: Select all

justin@solus ~ $ ls -al /dev/bus/usb/002/004
crw-rw-r-- 1 root lp 189, 131 22 nov.  10:55 /dev/bus/usb/002/004
My scanner is controlled by two groups : root and lp. So if my user can't control the scanner it could be because I'm not included in those groups. (a quick groups nameofuser can tell you groups you are a member of)

So I have to add my user to lp, the command is

Code: Select all

gpasswd -d user lp ## where user is your username
.

That's should be enough :D
Logout and login back to see if it works for you

Irtokarkki
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:35 am

Re: HowTo: Using your scanner on Solus

Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:01 pm

How about wireless?

Ws6____
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 6:26 am

Re: HowTo: Using your scanner on Solus

Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:12 am

Thank you so much! I have an Epson Xp-800 and it is working perfectly, took me 2 minutes to get it going.
All I did was download Simple-scan from the software center and it worked.
Irtokarkki wrote:
Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:01 pm
How about wireless?
Mine worked flawlessly!

abrahim456
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:25 am

Re: HowTo: Using your scanner on Solus

Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:09 am

Hello,

I have a wireless all in one printer (Canon Pixma MG3650). Solus recognizes it as a printer and it works flawlessly.

However, it doesn't work as a scanner. Simplescan doesn't see it and none of the solutions above helped.

EDIT: I fixed it by adding bjnp://192.168.1.103 (my scanner IP address) to /etc/sane.d/pixma.conf.

rob10
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:58 am

Re: HowTo: Using your scanner on Solus

Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:01 am

Sorry but I didn't understand what you mean: it is impossible to perform experiments without you having a hardware and consequently instead of installing Solus only I will have to dual boot it with Windows 10, or it is enough that I install Solus and later somehow apply your tricks?

Return to “Tutorials”