HellBorne

[Kind of Solved] Quitting Arch because of its community

Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:55 pm

Hi all,

Let me start with disclosures first:

1. I have been using Arch for almost 4 years, still love the distro for its simplicity and DIY style. Although I have been distro hopping since 2003 but my skills remained intermediate for I am a casual user. Now I am almost done with Arch (not because of anything wrong with distro but due to toxic community that I am fed up with.

2. I have not read Solus forum rules yet but I reckon they must be more welcoming towards new users than Arch community but, in all, please bear with me.

3. I might sound monotonic as if drunk. It's just I got binned, thrashed and trashed at Arch forums for "necrobumping" on my own thread after I 'reminded' folks to help me after waiting for almost a week.

Now, after all the rant above, I am considering following points before I do "sudo rm -r /" and install Solus:

A. Solus really does not offer packages as much as Arch does. Is it true? (Ref: this post by Arch fanboy)

B. Solus isn't great (package manager sucks, etc.) (See: https://forum.level1techs.com/t/solus-i ... eat/114111)

C. What is current "hostility rating" of Solus community (anything above 3 out of 10 will work for me).

D. Assuming base install of Solus with Gnome Mail, Thunderbird (need it due to some plugin), Chromium, OpenShot, Gimp, Dropbox (via Aur), Wine. How many packages would that be? I just want to compare bloat as my current setup is 155 expressively installed packages (870 in total with deps) for Gnome desktop which I believe is pretty trimmed system.

E. My first gen Core i5 Intel system boots in 17 seconds, how this compares to Solus in general?

I am no longer a distro hopper but now I am about to setup everything from scratch I want to make sure my new distro is probably going to stay for long.

Thank you.
Last edited by HellBorne on Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.