Schax
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 11:43 pm

Solus 3 not working at all

Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:30 am

Hi! Let me start by saying I am amazed by the work you guys have done. I use Solus as my main OS since 1 year ago and it has always just worked, not even a minor problem, and ended my long, long distro hopping.
I have recently got a new laptop (Dell xps if it's relevant in any way) and after 4 hours of trying to install it i got it working by installing it in EFI mode.
So:
1. It boots in around 25 seconds on a M.2 SSD, on my older laptop it booted in 1.2s on a normal SSD.
2. After logging in it takes about 6 seconds to display my desktop
3. It freezes, sometimes just the mouse, sometimes the whole screen. 20 seconds its usable then it freezes for about 6
4. Wi-fi works from time to time
5. It doesen't shut down nor restart. I tried shutting it down and i have waited for about 15 minutes but the screen was just frozen (I found out something about the kernel version not being right for the laptop)
It is not installed alongside any other OS, and i tried to find a fix for 2 days now. I have little knowledge about what could be wrong and what kind of information i should provide, so if you have the time just ask and i will try to post as soon as possible. Save me :?

User avatar
Justin
Development Team
Posts: 3250
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact: Website Google+ Twitter

Re: Solus 3 not working at all

Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:19 am

Output of the following should give us at least a better understanding of your hardware:
inxi -F
Image
Telegram: @justinzobel IRC: Justin`

Schax
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Solus 3 not working at all

Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:13 am

I finally got a terminal windows on the live USB, after i tried to install the graphics driver everything just died.

System: Host: solus Kernel: 4.12.7-11.current x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Budgie 10.4 Distro: Solus 3
Machine: Device: laptop System: Dell product: XPS 15 9560
Mobo: Dell model: 05FFDN v: A00
UEFI: Dell v: 1.3.4 date: 06/08/2017
Battery: BAT0: charge: 70.6Wh 92.1% condition: 76.7/85.1 Wh (90%)
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-HT-MCP- ) cache: 6144 KB
clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 1278 MHz 2: 1175MHz 3: 1217MHz
4: 1135 MHz 5: 1575MHz 6: 1273MHz 7: 1549MHz 8: 1780MHz
Graphics: Card-1: Intel Device 591b
Card-2: NVIDIA GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile]
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.18.4) drivers: modesetting, nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@59.93hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2)
version: 4.5 Mesa 17.1.6
Audio: Card Intel Device a171 driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound: Andvanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.12.7-11.current
Network: Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
driver: ath10k_pci
IF: wlp2s0 state: down mac: macaddress
Card-2: Atheros
IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives: HDD Total Size: 7.7GB (56.7% used)
ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: N/a size: 512.1GB
ID-2: USB /dev/sda model: DataTraveler_2.0 size:7.7GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 4.9G used: 4.1G (90%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
Sensors: None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info Processes: 272 Uptime: 1 min Memory: 646.1/15965MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.23

I have to mention again that this comand was executed using the live USB.

User avatar
Justin
Development Team
Posts: 3250
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact: Website Google+ Twitter

Re: Solus 3 not working at all

Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:33 am

Ahh ok so you have dual grahpics (NVIDIA+Intel). Try disabling one of the graphics devices in your motherboard settings.
Image
Telegram: @justinzobel IRC: Justin`

Schax
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 11:43 pm

Re: Solus 3 not working at all

Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:13 pm

Justin wrote:
Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:33 am
Ahh ok so you have dual grahpics (NVIDIA+Intel). Try disabling one of the graphics devices in your motherboard settings.
My BIOS only shows Intel graphics in System Information and I cannot find any kind of option on enabling or disabling the NVIDIA graphics card nor the Intel one. :(

skidmaark
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Solus 3 not working at all

Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:49 am

I'm having the same issue, albeit with an Alienware 13 R3 (a dell for all intents and purpose). It has the Intel i7-7700HQ with a karbylake intel integrated gpu and an nvidia 1060 gpu. Unfortunately there are no options in bios to disable or select one card only. I am able to use the Live USB image fully, however upon installation and booting I am able to reach the login screen, type in my password and once entered, a black screen occurs with a frozen mouse. After reading around, it appears this may be from the hybrid graphics? Doesn't appear I can do anything else at this point.

Return to “Testing”