brent

Leaving Qupzilla--a necessary breakup

Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:45 am

Truly a light fast browser that collapsed on itself in my possession.
Not a novice here, but several problems spiraled out of control and could not be remedied after 6 months of exclusive use.

Shame, I liked it.

Install/reinstall/clean cache/etc--took good care of it but it could not do the same for me. Accepted all updates. Etc. Did not self-sabotage at all. Tmp files/cookies always maintained.

*Dictionary/spellcheck disappeared despite attempts (here) to fix it.
*Horrible time-stuttering developed. Always 20 seconds behind mouse clicks therefore freezing any plans.
*Some HOT KEY or other horror got activated (?) and anything typed in search/google searched stopped after 5 letters and froze. And entered itself without you having to press enter. Or took you down to the middle of search results page without anything near your whole search term being typed in. ALWAYS. Web browsing is very difficult.
*Lot's of time hangups. Sluggish.
*Adblock, even though activated, never worked in Qupzilla and does not work. All ads accepted in browser despite being on easylist/fanboy/etc.
*There's more but those are the constant ones.

Became massively un-enjoyable.

Believe it or not I'm not complaining or ranting. The solus team originally had a great browser in the repo, perfect (except for pretend adblock), quick, and light.

My scientific reason for blaming Qupzilla alone for its self-immolation? None of the behavior above has ever happened in any other browser. I've been living with FF for the last few days.

Writing for no other reason than to say 1) software wigging out is not a new thing for anyone and 2) It's quite possible I broke it, and 3) despite grumblings about repo limitations around here, I am grateful for the current browser choices and have adapted easily to FF.
Chronicled for posterity and/or my own sanity.

Evertson

Re: Leaving Qupzilla--a necessary breakup

Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:56 am