olodnad
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:53 am

stuck at 'where should we install' [SOLVED]

Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:15 pm

Hi all,

some context: total linux 'newb' trying to install solus (parallel to win10)

problem: I exactly followed the steps for the installation process (several times reproducing the same problem):

1. Downloaded RC1 img
2. Used rufus to make bootable usb drive (left all parameters in rufus as default)
3. boot from newly created usb drive
4. from solus live started the installer
5. several smaller problems: installer couldn't find my location and wouldn't recognize my keyboard layout...
6. got to choose where to install from sda, sdb, sdc (chose sda. sdb is windows disk, sdc usb drive)
7. got stuck on the next step
screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg (62.65 KiB) Viewed 1151 times
Last edited by ikey on Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked the problem solved

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:17 pm

What are you stuck on exactly? :)
Image

olodnad
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:53 am

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:44 pm

Not me exactly but rather the installer :) i click 'next' and nothing happens..

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:53 pm

Oh! o_O OK this could just be a really derpy bug in the installer.

Don't select "swap", assuming you already formatted it as linux-swap already. Just set the root one and rock on!

We started fixing all this broken crap in the new Dailys: https://solus-project.com/2015/12/02/da ... -released/

Getting there, sorry!
Image

olodnad
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:53 am

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:18 pm

Hi again,

thx for your help!
Don't select "swap"
like this?
imageedit_2_5697501529.jpg
imageedit_2_5697501529.jpg (62.2 KiB) Viewed 1134 times
if so, unfortunately it still isn't working...

FYI, that is how the disk appears in Gparted
gparted.png
gparted.png (34.74 KiB) Viewed 1134 times

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:22 pm

OOoo you don't want a 22GB swap, way too big! :)

Rule of thumb I use, twice the RAM, up to 4GB.

( 1 -> 2, 2 - > 4, 4 -> 4)
Image

olodnad
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:53 am

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:34 pm

ok, done :D

but that didn't cause the problem right?

should I just try the daily iso?

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:37 pm

Can do? I stabilised things today so didn't wanna suggest it earlier.

I didn't create a swap in my instance (I have a NUC not a laptop, and 16GB RAM)
but everything was working fine from the latest dailies, in fact it doesn't actually
even activate them (bug!)
Image

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:38 pm

Image

olodnad
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:53 am

Re: stuck at 'where should we install'

Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:43 pm

ok, I will try that...

thx so much for ur help!

Return to “Installation”