User avatar
filter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:20 am

Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:21 pm

Heyas!

Installed bitmessage from the repo, tried to launch from the menu, nada, tried to launch from cli, was presented with:

Code: Select all

me@mine ~ $ pybitmessage 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/pybitmessage", line 4, in <module>
    import pkg_resources
ImportError: No module named pkg_resources
Any thoughts?

Cheers!

Filter

antechdesigns
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:12 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:50 pm

My guess is its looking for some python stuff. Do you have python3 installed?

Follow me on youtube: Free Solus Tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCi4qFG ... YFA/videos

Download Linux Wallpapers https://www.opendesktop.org/member/455534/

User avatar
filter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:20 am

Re: Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:52 pm

antechdesigns wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:50 pm
My guess is its looking for some python stuff. Do you have python3 installed?
*edit - yes indeedy!

Code: Select all

me@mine ~ $ python3 --version
Python 3.5.4

User avatar
kyrios
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:20 pm

Re: Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:55 pm

filter wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:21 pm
Heyas!

Installed bitmessage from the repo, tried to launch from the menu, nada, tried to launch from cli, was presented with:

Code: Select all

me@mine ~ $ pybitmessage 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/pybitmessage", line 4, in <module>
    import pkg_resources
ImportError: No module named pkg_resources
Any thoughts?

Cheers!

Filter
I could reproduce the problem. It's resolved by a new version of the setuptools. It should work again when this patch will land in the software center.

User avatar
filter
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:20 am

Re: Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:59 pm

kyrios wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:55 pm
It should work again when this patch will land in the software center.
Sweet, cheers kyrios!

Filter

sunnyflunk
Development Team
Posts: 2882
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:13 pm

filter wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:59 pm
kyrios wrote:
Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:55 pm
It should work again when this patch will land in the software center.
Sweet, cheers kyrios!

Filter
Just install python-setuptools...the patch isn't needed, it just isn't listed as a rundep (which I'll fix)

User avatar
kyrios
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:20 pm

Re: Bitmessage in the repo is broken

Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:54 am

Oops... I found out setuptools was the problem but I didn't think trying with the current version.
Looks like I still have to get good habits and first try with the current version.

Thanks sunny, this is indeed much easier and faster than waiting for the update which doesn't bring any added value in the present situation! :)

Return to “Packaging”