lefo1959
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:01 pm

Canon CanoScan 9000F-Calibration Needed

Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:37 pm

Hi. After searching the forums and trying to figure things out in Google; I'm stumped. I have a Canon 9000F Scanner, and it scans using Simple Scan. But, the colors are off. Red looks almost like brown, and blues are pretty muddied up, too. So, I installed and tried to use the tool "Color". It shows the Printer and Monitor being used, but the Scanner is not calibrated. When I try to use it, it basically says it can't find a file (?) and I get nowhere. I'm going to admit right now that I don't know what I'm doing, and I don't want to make things work.

Does anyone know how to calibrate in Solus? I could definitely use the help. I don't want to use VirtualBox/Windows 8.1 to scan. ;) Also, I'm using an Acer 7550 Laptop with 8GB RAM. FWIW, the printer is a Canon iP6700D. It can use some help in printing, too. If I can't find an answer for the really muddied print quality for this I'll post another question.

Thanks!!!

Len

User avatar
kyrios
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:20 pm

Re: Canon CanoScan 9000F-Calibration Needed

Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:55 pm

lefo1959 wrote:
Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:37 pm
Hi. After searching the forums and trying to figure things out in Google; I'm stumped. I have a Canon 9000F Scanner, and it scans using Simple Scan. But, the colors are off. Red looks almost like brown, and blues are pretty muddied up, too. So, I installed and tried to use the tool "Color". It shows the Printer and Monitor being used, but the Scanner is not calibrated. When I try to use it, it basically says it can't find a file (?) and I get nowhere. I'm going to admit right now that I don't know what I'm doing, and I don't want to make things work.

Does anyone know how to calibrate in Solus? I could definitely use the help. I don't want to use VirtualBox/Windows 8.1 to scan. ;) Also, I'm using an Acer 7550 Laptop with 8GB RAM. FWIW, the printer is a Canon iP6700D. It can use some help in printing, too. If I can't find an answer for the really muddied print quality for this I'll post another question.

Thanks!!!

Len
On this page there are some ICC profiles for your scanner model : http://meshfields.de/install-canoscan-9 ... -profiles/

lefo1959
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: Canon CanoScan 9000F-Calibration Needed

Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:23 pm

Thank you, Kyrios! I've downloaded the profiles, and I'll try to get this installed later tonight and let you know how it works out.

Len

lefo1959
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: Canon CanoScan 9000F-Calibration Needed

Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:44 am

I have some bad news, and I have some good news.

First, the bad news: The instructions posted on the page referenced above won't work in Solus for me. I figure I'm doing something wrong. I really liked the Canon scanner, but...

The good news! I also have an HP Envy 5642 that does a pretty good job of scanning with hplip right out of the box. I'm going to see what I can do to tweak in GIMP if I need to, but it's much better than the Canon. Printing with the HP is amazing! The Canon printer I have looks like I dragged the image through mud. The HP looks even better than my monitor!!!

So, now it'll just be a matter for me to learn more about hplip and get the scan better. It's not bad, but it's not quite right, either.

Thanks for the tip, though! I'm learning a lot more about this than I had taken for granted in the past.

User avatar
kyrios
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:20 pm

Re: Canon CanoScan 9000F-Calibration Needed

Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:01 am

Yeah sorry for not being more helpful but I don't own a scanner so I am not the best person to help troubleshooting such problems.
HP printers and scanners are very well supported.

Return to “Hardware”