Page 1 of 3

HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:49 am
by troybox
Hey,

On my laptop HP 15-cb010-ca it will black screen freeze and lock mouse after entering password on fresh install. I believe it is a Kernel Issue and needs the Nvidia drivers on install but loads the Intel drivers by default. I seen the same issue on Linux Mint 18.3 with a newer Kernel and was fixed by loading older Kernel and then installing Nvidia drivers.

I'm desperately waiting on Solus 4 so I can use my Laptop with Solus and ditch Windows 10!

As of now I can't properly game on it under Linux because the games see it as an Intel Chip and I need it to be seen as a Nvidia chip which it does under Windows 10 drivers.

I've Tried many Linux OS's and nothing is working with recognizing my Graphic Card properly. I realized the problem when it loaded a game then it wouldn't load Civ VI under Linux... The company said only Nvidia Support for Linux. So the game under Steam looks at it as Intel and won't load the game.

Can someone please help me and look up my laptop model and see what I need to do or just wait for Solus 4 which will have Switchable Graphics support?


Please email me at troybox@outlook.com if you are able to be of assistance to me?! :)


Thank you

Troy

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:53 am
by troybox
Can we expect Solus 4 anytime soon?

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:40 am
by kyrios
troybox wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:53 am
Can we expect Solus 4 anytime soon?
Solus never gives ETAs.
You can subscribe to this task to follow the progress.

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:25 pm
by troybox
kyrios wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:40 am
troybox wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:53 am
Can we expect Solus 4 anytime soon?
Solus never gies ETAs.
You can subscribe to this task to follow the progress.

Thank you. It appears to be from my guess about 3 months or longer away from being release.

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:15 am
by kyrios
troybox wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:25 pm
Thank you. It appears to be from my guess about 3 months or longer away from being release.
This sounds like a very pessimistic assumption.

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:01 pm
by troybox
kyrios wrote:
Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:15 am
troybox wrote:
Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:25 pm
Thank you. It appears to be from my guess about 3 months or longer away from being release.
This sounds like a very pessimistic assumption.
I hope I am wrong. Though when looking at the list it seemed fair to guess 3 months. As well Considering August 2017 Solus 3 came out would be a fair target date area for a Solus 4 release in my opinion.

Hope I am very wrong and we see it today! ;)

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:44 am
by sunnyflunk
It will be released before 2020

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:16 pm
by geoffrey.A
Sunnyflunk . . . is it possible to add a kernel boot parameter like "nomodeset" on Solus to allow for installs of proprietary drivers? I know distros that by default use grub allow for that, but does Solus with it's unique boot loader (Clear Boot Manager) provide a similar option as a workaround?

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:59 pm
by kyrios
geoffrey.A wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:16 pm
Sunnyflunk . . . is it possible to add a kernel boot parameter like "nomodeset" on Solus to allow for installs of proprietary drivers? I know distros that by default use grub allow for that, but does Solus with it's unique boot loader (Clear Boot Manager) provide a similar option as a workaround?

Hit multiple times the space bar while the computer starts, then press 'e' on the boot menu to edit the boot parameters.
Note to make permanent changes, follow the instructions on the help center.

Re: HP Laptop - Intel/Nvida Solus 3 Install?

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:37 pm
by freedent
I have a same problem with my labtop.

Code: Select all

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 591b (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] (rev a1)
But I was success my installation with one option in the boot option.

On your boot option choice the line and press E. Add after

Code: Select all

quiet

Code: Select all

nouveau.modeset=0
.

After installation you need to do like modification.