aiphoenix

Buying a new laptop

Mon Jul 10, 2017 10:49 pm

Hello, you wise people!

I'm quite new to Linux, but I try to learn. After messing around with all the distros, I found that I really like Solus. It just seems to... work right out of the box. Also, Budgie feels like a SOLID desktop, and it will just be better. Tbh, only 'extra' I've installed is Plank. I need my dock, and the dock mode in Budgie panels is not quite there yet. Well, enough ranting. I'm getting a new laptop, and I'd like a 2-1 that can run in tablet mode (type Zenbook). I've read that there are issues with Linux and making screen flip for tent or tablet mode, so my question is. Can you recommend a laptop that would work with this functionality?

Thx a ton!

Justin
Development Team

Re: Buying a new laptop

Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:18 am

Unfortunately each manufacturer may have a different way of doing the tablet mode. Now while Solus certainly isn't designed for tablet functionality I have seen others somewhere that had it working OK.

Only thing I can recommend in buying a laptop is make sure it's 64bit and has Intel wireless and graphics.

kyrios

Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:21 am

aiphoenix wrote:
Hello, you wise people!

I'm quite new to Linux, but I try to learn. After messing around with all the distros, I found that I really like Solus. It just seems to... work right out of the box. Also, Budgie feels like a SOLID desktop, and it will just be better. Tbh, only 'extra' I've installed is Plank. I need my dock, and the dock mode in Budgie panels is not quite there yet. Well, enough ranting. I'm getting a new laptop, and I'd like a 2-1 that can run in tablet mode (type Zenbook). I've read that there are issues with Linux and making screen flip for tent or tablet mode, so my question is. Can you recommend a laptop that would work with this functionality?

Thx a ton!