ogtega
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:55 pm

Code: Select all

Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Limited BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter [14e4:43a0] (rev 03)
I also have this card but I installed it on my desktop (would have gotten a atheros card if I knew driver support would be this terrible), but after installing and rebooting my computer the card is still not visible in the NetworkManager Applet.

sunnyflunk
Development Team
Posts: 2743
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Sat Aug 12, 2017 2:17 am

ogtega wrote:
Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:55 pm

Code: Select all

Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Limited BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter [14e4:43a0] (rev 03)
I also have this card but I installed it on my desktop (would have gotten a atheros card if I knew driver support would be this terrible), but after installing and rebooting my computer the card is still not visible in the NetworkManager Applet.
Have you tried the broadcom-sta drivers?

You'll usually need these for broadcom devices, the flip side being you need internet to be able to install them.

ogtega
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:23 pm

I just plugged my desktop through LAN then installed the drivers four times. On the fourth boot everything started working, apparently the driver support is universally shaky for this card. Oh, well...

User avatar
Justin
Development Team
Posts: 3608
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact: Website Google+ Twitter

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:28 am

Broadcom has been terrible for ages.

lewis6991
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:59 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:02 am

The broadcom-sta driver isn't working for me. It's installed but Solus still says that no WIFI adapter was detected. Is there anything I can do to check the driver is loaded?

User avatar
KerfufflyKitty
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:19 am

lewis6991 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:02 am
The broadcom-sta driver isn't working for me. It's installed but Solus still says that no WIFI adapter was detected. Is there anything I can do to check the driver is loaded?

This seems to be a common theme with the Broadcom drivers. Try this:

Code: Select all

cd
sudo echo "install wl /sbin/modprobe cfg80211; /sbin/insmod /lib/modules/\$(/bin/uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.ko" > hackboot.conf
sudo mv hackboot.conf /etc/modprobe.d/
sudo echo "wl" > wl.conf
sudo mv wl.conf /etc/modules-load.d/

Then restart the computer or run sudo modprobe wl. :)

lewis6991
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:59 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:57 pm

Thanks for the reply. I was able to get it working late into the night after trying many different things. I ended up installing the wl driver from source using https://github.com/antoineco/broadcom-wl. I also needed to install linux-current-headers which could have been the reason it didn't work before.

Thanks nonetheless.

putsan
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:36 pm

KerfufflyKitty wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:19 am

This seems to be a common theme with the Broadcom drivers. Try this:

Code: Select all

cd
sudo echo "install wl /sbin/modprobe cfg80211; /sbin/insmod /lib/modules/\$(/bin/uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.ko" > hackboot.conf
sudo mv hackboot.conf /etc/modprobe.d/
sudo echo "wl" > wl.conf
sudo mv wl.conf /etc/modules-load.d/

Then restart the computer or run sudo modprobe wl. :)
Thanks so much for your help!)
Now wifi works fine.

Note:
The problem came from the following notebook:

Code: Select all

    HP Pavilion g6 Notebook PC (A5G90EA # ACB)
    product: BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter
    vendor: Broadcom Limited

User avatar
KerfufflyKitty
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:59 am

Since people keep quoting my other post, I feel I should probably point out that you can do it in two lines with the tee utility. :)

Code: Select all

echo "install wl /sbin/modprobe cfg80211; /sbin/insmod /lib/modules/\$(/bin/uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/wl.ko" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/hackboot.conf
echo "wl" | sudo tee /etc/modules-load.d/wl.conf

Halo.wings
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:54 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to get a Broadcom BCM4360 working?

Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:47 pm

I just tried your fix but it is not working after latest update to Broadcom-sta (2018-02-05) and broadcom-sta-common (2018-02-05) and broadcom-sta-current (2018-02-05).

No luck.

The drive is just refusing to load into the kernel regardless of what i try, I am thinking of pulling out the card, and replacing it with a different card out of a different Dell laptop.

I wanted to see if you are experiencing any problems after the updates.

Thanks Halo

Return to “Hardware”