User avatar
Justin
Development Team
Posts: 3617
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact: Website Google+ Twitter

New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:59 am

We put out the latest daily ISO (0.201549.3.0) which features all the awesome changes for the last few days, including:

• fixed online accounts/webkit in general
• swapped lightdm for GDM
• completely overhauled install process, using gnome-initial-setup
• Killed DRI3 everywhere, because "it's evil" [ikey]
• Fixed USB booting that some have suffered late
• goofiboot integration with installer (i.e. we now DO manipulate EFI variables!)

Go on. Try it!

https://solus-project.com/daily-iso/

User avatar
GeneC
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:30 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:23 pm

Installed this new iso and have 2 issues.

1. This first is just a personal complaint. New installer forces use of complex password (I know for security, et, but I dont NEED extra security, nor do I want to be forced into it). Installer would not accept my 6 digit password, then would not accept my 8 digit until I mixed numbers and letters). We should be allowed to determine what we personally want to use for a password. If a user needs more security they can simple use a longer complex password, not forced into it... :|

2. This one is a bigger issue. New complex password works for login, but does not work for software manager.. :?:
I tried several times. Works for login, but not for software manager. (8 digit alpha-numeric).
Image
GeneC
Solus 3 ~(˘▾˘~)

User avatar
GeneC
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:30 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:39 pm

OK, sorry. I am a little dim this morning. The problem is simply the old keyboard issue.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=804

Password works in gnome-shell and assume it works with the temporary fix.
Re: Nov 9 updates may break Budgie (password)
Postby Justin » Tue Nov 10, 2015 11:31 pm

Please try the following to fix the keyboard issue:

Code: Select all

gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.media-keys active false

Then reboot.
I just assumed that would have been addressed in the iso.

EDIT:

Yes, its the old issue. Fix works in Budgie.
Image
GeneC
Solus 3 ~(˘▾˘~)

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:31 pm

Re: keyboard, it's something we're still combating by rewriting Budgie.

I wasn't actually aware of stringent restrictions on the password, I always use something semi-secure. I'll see if we can make it a bit more lackadaisical about the whole thing.
Image

User avatar
GeneC
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:30 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:55 pm

Hi Ikey.. :)

Almost forgot aout the keyboard issue.. :oops:

I see another issue I thought might be nividia/noveau specific, but also just showed up on my intel laptop. Desktop applications like conky and plank dock just started getting wonky in gnome shell (haven't tested budgie yet).

Upon bootup both Plank dock and sometimes conky do no load in their designated positions. With Plank, its set to open on bottom (panel is up top), but it opens in upper middle of screen.. :shock: This is the same on all three of my Solus installs. Intel and Nvidia/noveau. If I close and re-open Plank it loads correctly, but always boots in wrong position, same with conky.

This just started happening this week, or so. It must be something in the latest updates.. :?:

Curious if others are have this issue, before reporting a bug.
Would take a screenshot, but as soon as I open screenshot tool, Plank resets to its bottom position...
Image
GeneC
Solus 3 ~(˘▾˘~)

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:42 pm

Yeah just fixed GTK3, sorry about that :/ Responded to your other thread :]
Image

User avatar
GeneC
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:30 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:22 pm

All fixed... Thanks.. ;)
Image
GeneC
Solus 3 ~(˘▾˘~)

User avatar
GeneC
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:30 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)! -SWAP File not recognized

Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:51 pm

Just noticed that though I correctly identified and selected my existing swap file (multi-boot) in new installer set-up with this iso that it was never registered in fstab.

I had to add it manually..

-----------------------------

And
Gnome shutdown still flickers screen, even after recent GTK fix above.
Image
GeneC
Solus 3 ~(˘▾˘~)

User avatar
ikey
Project Founder
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:42 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact: Website

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:38 pm

systemd automatically activates swap, check systemd-analyze and 'free -m' to verify.
It does not need to be in fstab anymore. (in fact it's what causes the mount error in
startup)
Image

User avatar
GeneC
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:30 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: New daily ISO (0.201549.3.0)!

Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:54 pm

Hmm!
If that is the case then something is wrong. If I remove swap line (that I put in fstab).
No swap.!

Code: Select all

gene@solus ~ $ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          12020         886       10723          13         410       11053
Swap:             0           0           0
-----------

If I add a swap fstab entry =

Code: Select all

#
# Swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
# Entry for /dev/sda5 : (SWAP)
UUID=5aa8be06-97b1-4e77-a41d-8725d4f2dae0	swap	swap	sw	0	0
I do get a swap

Code: Select all

gene@solus ~ $ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          12020         366       11436           9         217       11585
Swap:          1999           0        1999
Could me using multi-boot and another partiton's grub have something to do with it ?
Last edited by GeneC on Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
GeneC
Solus 3 ~(˘▾˘~)

Return to “Announcements”